Confessions of a closet grumbler

“Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain.” Philippians 2:14-16 NIV

Hi I’m Bonnie and I’m a closet grumbler. Oh, you may not see me doing it because I’ll probably paste on a smile and pretend everything’s ok when I see you. As a pastor’s wife, I’ve had lots of practice at doing that.  But if I let you inside my heart house, you’d probably still see the streamers  hanging on the walls from my latest pity party.

But I’ve learned that grumbling and praise can’t thrive in the same heart. When I begin grumbling too much, God has a habit of holding up His mirror in front of my face, showing me exactly how I look in His eyes. (Of course, that makes me grumble or feel sorry for myself all the more –  until  I give in and admit He’s right. )

Then with His help, I can shrug off al the pity-party trappings and put on the clothes He hands me – a star-studded garment of praise. Praise always lifts my spirits and makes the day look brighter. I find more positive things to say and to think about. Chores that once bogged me down are completed quicker and I have more time for the things I enjoy. Most of all, that joy has a way of spreading to others.

Lord, help me sweep away the confetti fallout and the entangling streamers of grumbling and self-pity. Help me to wear praise and joy just as easily and definitely more often! Amen!

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of a closet grumbler

  1. Pingback: Gals on Grumbling (Wed What my Friends Write) | Inky'Spot

Leave a Reply

