Keeping on track

But me? I will sing of your strength! In the morning I will shout out loud about your faithful love because you have been my stronghold, my shelter when I was distraught.” Psalm 59:16 CEB

Whenever I get up in the morning and have my personal devotional time, I have the spiritual stamina to get through the rest of the day. My outlook is more positive and I can trust God, even though the circumstances of the day may not be so great.

But, disciplining myself to have daily devotions has generally been a struggle for me. It’s very much like the struggle we face here to exercise and make healthy food choices consistently. When we do it, we feel stronger, more alert, on track and able to cope.

When we miss a day, it is easier to shrug it off the next day and the next until we slide back down into that pit again where we feel sluggish, downright depressed  and unable to keep on track.

We’re back to the old question – if we know a healthy diet, exercise and daily devotional time are good for us, why don’t we do them?

Isn’t it great to know we’re not the only ones who have wrestled with this? Paul did too in Romans chapter 7, beginning in verse 18..He said, “I know what’s right to do, but I don’t do it!”

But in chapter 8, he gives us a solution – it’s Christ’s Spirit that sets us free. That doesn’t mean it won’t still be a struggle to get up and get moving or to get up and have our personal time with Him, but we will have His help to motivate us to do the things we need to do! Yippee!

So, Lord, help me to have the “want to” when it comes to taking care of my physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health so I can lead a strong, productive and healthy life – an abundant life – here on this earth! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

