Singing a love psalm to Jesus

Psalm 18] For the music leader. Of David the LORD’s servant, who spoke the words of this song to the LORD after the LORD delivered him from the power of all his enemies and from Saul. He said: I love you, LORD, my strength. The LORD is my solid rock, my fortress, my rescuer. My God is my rock— I take refuge in him!— he’s my shield, my salvation’s strength, my place of safety.” Psalm 18:1-2 CEB 

Have you ever written a song?

According to Bible scholars, David wrote  at least 73 of them in the Book of Psalms and many more that are not recorded. Through them he shared a lifetime of honest feelings with God. And though they often expressed his negative feelings of anger,fear and sorrow, they always returned to the praise that swelled in his heart for the love of his life – his God.

If you were to write a song of praise to God, what would you say?

I began to love Jesus as a young child because of the words of a Sunday School teacher. The love I found in Christ swelled in my young heart much like it must have bubbled up in David’s heart and found its way into a song that I wrote at age 14.

Master and Savior and Shepherd and King, This is what Jesus is to me. His love is so gentle, so warm, so kind, No greater friend could I ever find. He teaches me what I need to know. He leads me wherever he wants me to go He’ll never forsake me O know  it’s true My life to serve him I give, I do. Salvation’s the gift that he’s given to me Only  by grace so rich and free. That’s why I say so thankfully This is what Jesus is to me.

Lord, thank you for putting a song in my heart that has lasted through all my life – a song of praise to you, Amen.

A parting challenge – During this month of February, write a love psalm to the Lord and share it with someone.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

