Looking forward to the harvest

“Those who pursue righteousness and kindness will find life, righteousness, and honor.” Proverbs 21:21 CEB

February marks the beginning of an exciting time of year. The hardware store has their seed packets and  planting supplies on display! Even if the winter drags on for six more weeks as our resident rodent predicts,  my whole outlook changes to one of hope.

I draw garden layouts to plan where each vegetable will be and how much I will plant. Then I purchase the necessary seeds and peat pots to start them so they’re ready when our local  weather permits me to transfer them outside.

As each little tomato begins to grow I pray for the plants to grow strong and dream of the rows of home-canned goodness lining my basement shelves which I will share with family and friends.

Watching my seedlings also reminds me to pray about the fruit I produce in my life. Upright living and kindness are two of those tender plants Even during the bitter times of pain and sorrow in my life, I need to cultivate and nurture those tender plants.

Life isn’t just about me – it’s about relationship with others around me. Caring about others gives me a reason to live, to grow and prosper as it heals the hurts inside.

Father, bless and prosper the attitudes of my heart that I might know life and share that life with others! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

