My middle name is Martha

“If I speak in tongues of human beings and of angels but I don’t have love, I’m a clanging gong or a clashing cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and I know all the mysteries and everything else, and if I have such complete faith that I can move mountains but I don’t have love, I’m nothing. If I give away everything that I have and hand over my own body to feel good about what I’ve done but I don’t have love, I receive no benefit whatsoever.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 CEB 

My middle name is “Martha”  That’s M. Martha Humanbeing.

I responded to that name for so long I didn’t even remember my first name.   Love equalled self-less action, often  to the point where I felt rundown, exhausted and ready to quit. I carried a heavy load and resented it.

That’s when I heard Him calling, “Mary?”

At first I didn’t respond to  the name which sounded so foreign to my ears. But there He was, looking straight at me, calling again. “Mary. Come here and sit down.” He pulled up a chair and I sat on the edge, nibbling my nails, ready to spring up and do His bidding.

“Mary, sit with Me awhile. Rest and learn from Me. Talk to Me. You’ve been so busy doing things for Me, you’ve forgotten how to take time to be with Me.”

I felt guilty sitting there. After all, there was so much to do and if I didn’t do it, well…no one would! But He kept speaking in a soft comforting voice until I relaxed in His presence. It felt so good to just “be” with Him. I allowed His healing love to caress my weary, anxious heart.

After many months, our sweet fellowship restored joy to my heart. I wanted to work for Him again – this time because of love, not a driving need to please.

Now we meet together each day before the work begins for our special time. He always calls me by my first name, Mary, as we sit and share  our hopes, plans and dreams. He quiets my anxiety and fears, filling me with His sweet love instead.

I’m so glad my “middle” name is Martha.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

