8th grade boys and love notes

God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him won’t perish but will have eternal life.” John 3:16 CEB

Eighth grade Spanish class seems so long ago – well, let’s not discuss age! LOL!

But  I do remember announcing my desire to become a missionary to a skinny boy with large glasses who sat next to me in that class. He just smirked at me and said, “Can you quote John 3:16?”

I stammered around a bit before admitting that I had never memorized that particular verse – or any others for that matter. Being an 8th grade boy, he just snorted and said, “Then how do you expect to be a missionary?” And he teased me mercilessly the rest of the year.

Well, I never got to the mission field like I’d planned, but I did learn the value of hiding God’s word in my heart.

Each of those memorized  verses are love notes from God’s heart that have brought me encouragement, comfort, motivation, instruction, guidance and love through the years. Whether I’m sharing with someone else or in need of an answer for myself – His words are always there when I need them.

Thanks, Lord for loving me enough to send your Son  to bring me eternal life. And thanks for caring enough about the in-between years until I step into eternity that you sent  an 8th grade boy to show me how important your words of love are! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

