Sonshine

Why are you sad, O my soul? Why have you become troubled within me? Hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my help and my God. Psalm 42:11 New Life Version (NLV)

Being a pastor’s wife, people often call me with prayer requests and yesterday was no exception.

A dear friend called me in the afternoon to pray with her about a man who had been in a terrible car accident. Another friend called in the early evening to say that her daughter-in-law had been readmitted to the hospital.

I’m always glad to pray with the callers, Most days I  can pray earnestly with them and then leave the burdens at Jesus’ feet. I’ll add the need to my daily prayer list and pray throughout the day whenever I think of it. No problem.

But yesterday I woke up with a headache and low grade fever, probably the remains of a slight cold virus. Plus I already felt burdened by my son’s family needs which I learned about during our weekend visit. So when my friends called with their requests, I prayed and hung up the phone feeling even more discouraged and heavy of heart.

That’s when I heard God’s still small voice reminding me out of the clear blue of this verse in Psalms. “Why is your soul discouraged? Hope in God !” Hope was like a smile from God, lifting my heart in an instant as He gently reminded me of His power, strength and control.

Thank you Lord for your light of hope that brightens my heart. I don’t know how yesterday’s prayers will be answered, but I know and love the One who answers! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

