God, Can you hear me?

“I  know the plans I have in mind for you, declares the LORD; they are plans for peace, not disaster, to give you a future filled with hope. When you call me and come and pray to me, I will listen to you. When you search for me, yes, search for me with all your heart, you will find me.” Jeremiah 29:11-13 CEB

Children’s personalities can be so different, but they have one thing in common –  the need to be heard.

When my granddaughter Katie was two years old, she talked  a mile a minute. She parroted back the words we said and told all sorts of imaginary stories on her own. If she didn’t know the right word, she made one up. If we didn’t listen to her she would stand right in front of us and sometimes even hold our faces in her little hands, jabbering away, until we responded.

What a big difference from her little brother Noah who is now two years old. He doesn’t talk at all, even though he understands everything we say to him. But he knows how to get his mom’s attention by patting her leg until she looks at him, then grunting, pointing and gesturing until he gets his message across.

No matter what we are going through, God hears us when we pray – whether we  vocalize our prayers or pat His leg and get in His face to gain His attention. He promises to be there when we earnestly look for Him.

That’s a good thing – because we may not be able to see His plan coming to pass, detail by detail during the process. But as long as we see Him and continue to communicate with Him,  we know He hears us and we can trust that the plan IS coming together.

Thanks Lord for hearing me! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

