A path through the pain

“But he knows where I am going.  And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside. ” Job 23:10-11 NLT

During times of personal crisis, it seems the first thing we humans do is to try to find a cause or reason for the pain we feel.
“Why is God doing this to me?”
“What did I do to deserve this?”
“It’s all their fault!”

We believe if we can find the cause, then somehow we can fix it and all the pain will go away. So we rant at God. We turn our anger inward and become depressed or physically sick. Or we turn our anger outward against another person and try to get even with them for hurting us.

Unfortunately assigning blame doesn’t help us get through the crisis.  In most cases, it makes the suffering more intense because it alienates us from God our help. It isolates us from the love of supportive others and causes us to inflict pain on others, perpetuating the cycle of suffering.

Lord, during these times of crisis, help me  to focus on you – allowing your love to cradle me. Help me seek support rather than pushing it away. And  help me forgive – letting go of the anger toward myself and others so that anger doesn’t destroy me in the process.  Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

