Our all-seeing God

Search me, O God, and know my heart;  test me and know my anxious thoughts.  Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. Psalm 139:23-24 NLT

“My mom has eyes in the back of her head!”

Or so kids think at times.But we moms know the truth. We really can’t keep our eyes on our kids 24/7 to keep them out of trouble or safe from harm.

We’ve learned to use all our senses as we care for our children each day. – We listen to them as they play. When things get too quiet, we know to go and investigate because junior is probably doing something he shouldn’t. – We can’t read minds so we watch their body language and facial expressions to know when they’re  not telling us the everything.. – We learn about age-typical behaviors and know what to watch for when something is wrong. – And don’t discount that 6th sense – mom’s intuition – which has helped catch kids in the act for generations!

But God really does have all-seeing eyes. He sees and knows everything we do.  He hears the deepest thoughts of our hearts, though we seem to think we can hide those thoughts from him. He will gently but firmly root out the sin in our lives – sometimes bringing us back to the same lesson over and over until we get it.

Why? Because he loves us more than we love our own children. He wants to keep us out of trouble and safe from harm, but even more than that, he wants to keep us with him for all eternity!

Thank you Lord for watching me, correcting me,  teaching me and leading me in this journey home to your side. Amen..

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

