Rock-Solid Promises

“My deliverance and glory depend on God. God is my strong rock. My refuge is in God.”        Psalm 62:7 CEB

My granddaughter, Abby, is a rock collector.

Any time she visits, we find piles of rocks littering the sidewalk where she sat building, examining or playing with her collection. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard a clunking sound in the clothes dryer, only to find a rock or two that was washed in her pocket. They don’t even have to be smooth, unusual or pretty rocks. She loves them all.

Who knows what goes on inside her young head as she collects her rocks? Perhaps she dreams of castles made of rock, strong and impregnable. Maybe the  solidity of the rocks comforts her as she holds them in her hands. Or perhaps she likes the way water sounds as it cascades over the surface of the rocks.

But one of my favorite things when she visits is when she gives me a rock she found and tells me, “Grammy, this is for you. Will you keep it forever?” I  have a small collection of rocks she’s given me and when I look at them I think of Abby and pray for her.

Like Abby, God gives me rocks to remind me of His presence with me each day. They are the promises from His word – rock solid pieces of Himself that I can hold onto when I go through trials, sorrow or grief. They remind me of God my strong tower, the place of safety where I can run when I feel weak. The solidity of His promises comforts me and gives me something firm to hold onto when all the world seems to crumble around me.

When I look at His promises, I sense my Father saying to me, “These promises are for you. Will you hold onto them until I come for you?”

 Yes, Lord, I will hold onto those rock-solid promises, those pieces of yourself that you give to me to strengthen , encourage and  fortify me until I see you, my strong rock, face to face.  Amen!

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, God's Word and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

