How’s my driving?

“We must never stop looking to Jesus. He is the leader of our faith, and he is the one who makes our faith complete. He suffered death on a cross. But he accepted the shame of the cross as if it were nothing because of the joy he could see waiting for him. And now he is sitting at the right side of God’s throne.”        Hebrews 12:2 ERV

Have you ever travelled on an Interstate Highway behind a large truck? If you have, you may have noticed a question  painted on the back – “How’s my driving?” with a phone number to call. Have you ever called one of those numbers?

No, I haven’t, but I have been tempted to! The words are  printed there to hold the driver accountable for the safe-driving goal of his employer.

I saw one of those rigs the other day and it reminded me that I’m accountable to God for the goals I set. Several years ago, I  started a writer’s critique group on the Internet made up of several writing friends. Beginning in 2008, we all set goals for that year and  for our future writing. We also wrote mission statements to help us clarify those goals.

My mission statement was to write to “Encourage women to build healthy, supportive relationships for Christian growth.”

In order to accomplish my writing mission, I  set some goals which included blogging 2-3 times per week, finishing my second novel as well as publishing several other unfinished projects and long term, to finish novel number 3.

So four years later, I find myself asking the question, “How’s my writing?” Am I accomplishing my goals? Well, yes and no. I did hit a dry spell for about 2 years where blogging was hit-or-miss. But I am blogging faithfully now and have even started a blog/website for our local community’s Christian Women’s group.   I did finally finish novel #2,  Daughter of Scarlet, but I’m having a difficult time even getting started on # 3.  And I haven’t published any of those unfinished projects.

Have I fulfilled my writing mission? I’m not sure when it comes to other women, though I have built several supportive networks to encourage me as a pastor’s wife, as a Christian and as a writer.

Perhaps it’s time to tweak my mission statement and set some new goals to clarify my life’s direction since I’ve seen my focus change over the last several years. I’ve begun to focus more on sharing my faith to encourage others to really get to “Know” Christ intimately through their suffering and trials. My heart has also become more burdened for abuse/trafficking victims and orphans.

Growth involves change, so I know its okay for my life’s mission to evolve through the years. But I must also evaluate the goals I set for myself to accomplish that mission and change them as needed to keep me focused on accomplishing what the Lord gives me to do.

Lord, help me to see my mission clearly and to set achievable goals to accomplish it. Help me to keep my focus on you and the joys of seeing others grow and mature in their trust for you! Amen.

 

 

 

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, Goal Setting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

