What to do when God breaks your heart

“For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.  Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from the penalty for our sins.”        Romans 3:23-24 NLT

“Why am I here?” I thought to myself as I walked into the large meeting room.

True,  I felt a responsibility to be there. After all, I was a pastor’s wife AND the church’s women’s group leader. Several of my church ladies had come to the meeting because of me.

As I entered, I spotted another pastor’s wife, a close friend. I waved and wove my way through the maze of tables to say hello. Yep, I thought. I’m glad I came since I’ll get to see some of my  to see friends.

The aroma of  soup and fresh baked bread sticks wafted toward me. Hmmmm. It didn’t hurt that there was food at this meeting either. Lunch really smelled good!

I smiled and nodded to our district officials who had come to speak about the women’s fundraising project for the next year. I was looking forward to their presentation following the meal so that I could go home and put together some plans for my church ladies to raise those all-important project funds.

Yes, I figured I had some pretty good reasons for being at that meeting. But they all fell short in comparison to God’s reason for wanting me there. Because He loved me, He planned to change the direction of my life that afternoon.

With a ten-minute video about young women and children victims of human trafficking, God broke my heart in two, completely shattering its naiveté. A problem I had overlooked before, now lay so heavily on my heart I could barely breathe. I knew I could not leave the building without making a decision to do something about the trafficking crisis.

My life has taken some pretty interesting twists and turns since that meeting 12 years ago. God has helped me develop some new skills and produce some new tools to use to raise funds and the  awareness of the trafficking crisis. Tomorrow I have the opportunity to share those things with a group of seminar-goers, specifically  about the problem of trafficking as it relates to orphans.

I am only one;  but still I am one.  I  cannot do everything;  but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”            ~  Edward Everett Hale~

Lord, Though our motives fall short of your plan and purpose, raise our awareness and break our hearts for missions until we decide to do that something we can do for you! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Events, Missions, Orphan mile and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

