Paying attention to the details

“Your life is a journey you must travel with a deep consciousness of God. It cost God plenty to get you out of that dead-end, empty-headed life you grew up in. He paid with Christ’s sacred blood, you know. He died like an unblemished, sacrificial lamb. And this was no afterthought…. God always knew he was going to do this for you. It’s because of this sacrificed Messiah, whom God then raised from the dead and glorified, that you trust God, that you know you have a future in God.”       1 Peter 1:18-19 MSG

It never ceases to amaze me how God orchestrates the smallest details of the events of our lives to bring us exactly  into the place He wants us be. But even thought I knew about His sacrifice and believed He died for me, I never paid much attention to the intricate details of His workings in my life until I became a writer.

The thoughts of writing 60,000 words was somewhat daunting at first. I’ve always been an impatient reader, wanting to get to the end of a story for that feel-good, happy finish. I’ve even been known stop in the middle of a book and read the ending because I had to know what  happened to the heroine. Then I’d skim/read to the end to see how the story actually resolved.  Horrors!

The first draft  of my first novel tended to reflect that need to get to the end of the story. It also left the story way too short and very flat!

I had to learn to slow down the action and take time to explore my character’s interactions with God as well as her thoughts, feelings, ways of coping with people and  life experiences. These things helped build a bond between the readers and the character, as well as heightening anticipation and excitement to keep them engaged.   The story development lay in the details.

By pacing myself, the writing experience took on a new excitement for me. It also caused me to look at my life differently – more like a story unfolding with each new event, experience or person who entered my life building on the next, heightening my spiritual growth and development.

It helped me to gain a deeper consciousness of God in my life – always close by, always protecting, stretching, growing me to make me into the woman He created me to be.  God enriched my life story by the huge investment of time and energy He put into the details!

Thank  you Lord, for giving me a glimpse of your patience and love as you author the story of my life.  I’m not afraid of  the future because I’ve seen You writing  my past. Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

