Lost

“For the Son of Man came to seek and to save those who are lost.” Luke 19:10 NLT

I paid close attention the first time my husband drove to my daughter’s new house. I even took notes when we reached her community so I would remember when I had to drive there by myself the following week.

The first part of the trip I already knew by heart since we passed through Indiana, PA, a town where we had lived for three years. But once I passed through Indiana, I relied on my memory.  No we don’t have a GPS – yet!

I was doing fine. I got into my daughter’s town and remembered the road that took a sharp right, angling up the face of a cliff. After all , it was a memorable landmark. But once I reached the higher ground atop the plateau, I took a right turn where I should have gone straight. Within minutes I was hopelessly lost. Now I’m not squeamish about asking for directions, but there really was no place to stop! So I tried to find my way back to the place I made my wrong turn. Unfortunately, the one way streets I met kept me confused. LOL!

About 2 hours later, after many wrong turns, several phone calls to my daughter and several stops to ask directions, I pulled into her driveway. By that time I was ready to get out of the car and kiss the ground! The truly funny thing was that several times I was within a mile of her house, but yet so far away because I kept making wrong turns.

But being lost did have a positive side. I learned not to rely on my memory alone. I need to have a map or clear step-by-step directions. Maybe I can talk hubby into buying that  GPS for Christmas? And I learned the lay of the land so I didn’t get lost later when I had to run out to do a few errands for Allissa.

Seriously though, it was a great object lesson for me, reminding me that when I try to rely on my own power to make it through this life, I’ll mess up or get lost every time.  I need lots of prayer and help from others when I encounter confusing or difficult life experiences. And I especially need Jesus as my heavenly GPS system, to guide me through those experiences his way.

Thanks Lord for being there to help us when we are lost – physically, emotionally and spiritually!  Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Salvation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

