God’s size I(nfinite) knitting needles

“For you fashioned my inmost being, you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I thank you because I am awesomely made, wonderfully; your works are wonders — I know this very well.”Psalm 139:13-14 CJB

God is a phenomenal knitter. Not only is he able to knit us together in utero, creating an awesome, colorful strand  with each individual life –  he is able to take each of those individual human strands and knit them together  into an incredible living design that grows and changes with each passing day.

I’ve seen it happen several times. The first time I really noticed his artistic knitting talent was during the ice storm that hit my northern New York community of Gouverneur in 1998.  I woke up to a loud crackling sound as one of the transformers on our street burned out, leaving the neighborhood in darkness.

When the sun came up we realized that ice had formed on all of the power lines causing poles to snap off and wires to fall. Not only was our street powerless, but the whole North Country region was out! We had no power for a week in town and outside of town things were much worse with some areas powerless for up to three weeks. Believe me, you don’t want to be without power in northern New York in January when temps can plummet to 20 degrees below zero!

But through that storm, God knit together a whole community as people opened their homes to their neighbors, churches, nursing homes and even prisons opened up as shelters, and those from outside the area sent in food and other supplies to help until power could be restored.

Recently, I’ve seen it happening again as God began with a single strand – a little girl named Emily who is battling leukemia here in my community.When she began her fight, God began knitting our whole town together. People started praying together, across denominational lines for this feisty little girl with the fighting spirit.  They scheduled candlelight vigils, bake sales to raise money and  to show support for her family. Businesses even placed messages of support on their marquis around town. Through sites like Twitter, Facebook and Caring Bridge, her life is being knit together with people from all over.

We never know who our lives will touch. But it is inevitable that our lives will become knit into the great fabric of God’s plan – looped together, intertwined with others to  bring life, color and continuity to his pattern.

Lord, use my life to touch others in a good way today!

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

