Coffee pot malfunctions

“Ahhhh! coffee.” I grabbed a mug out of the cupboard and  pushed the button to fill my cup. Surely a cuppa joe would help me to finish writing my daily devotional blog. I had prayed over the verse for the day and struggled with  several ideas, but none of them came out “right” on paper.

Just as the aromatic brew neared the top of the cup, I pulled it away to  save room for my favorite French vanilla  creamer.

Much to my horror and surprise, the  hot coffee kept running from the little dispenser. Like an old slap-stick TV sitcom character, I stood there watching for a second as the dark liquid dribbled all over the counter. Then I snapped into action, grabbing another cup. I hoped the stream of steaming liquid  would slow down. But it didn’t. So I grabbed another mug.

I pushed on the dispenser button several times, hoping whatever obstructed the pour spout would dislodge. Nope. So I grabbed another cup. Thankfully the pot only holds 5 big mugs of coffee. Within minutes all the brew drained out. I grumbled as I cleaned up the mess on the counter. Then I cleaned the filter and rinsed the coffee chamber.

Hmmm. I found the problem. Apparently for some reason the grounds in the filter basket had overflowed and drained down into the coffee chamber. When I pushed the dispenser button, some tiny grounds got stuck in the spout mechanism and wouldn’t allow it to close.

The moral of the story? Even a tiny grain of  discouragement can cause all our spiritual energy to eke out. That’s when  we need to clean up our thinking and remember the things God says, not the things we see around us.

“For God is not unjust. He will not forget how hard you have worked for him and how you have shown your love to him by caring for other believers, as you still do.”        Hebrews 6:10 NLT

Thank you Lord for reminding me that you see me today! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Overcoming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

