Fearless in the fire…

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.”        Psalm 56:4 CJB

Everyone was in bed. The doors were shut and locked for the night when rain began pelting the house from a bad storm system. A sudden bolt of lightning struck the house, igniting a fire.

One small child, awakened by the sound of the lightning striking the house and the sounds of the fierce storm, became afraid. He started down the hall to the parents’ room on the other end of the house, but was unable to get there because of a wall of flames. The child panicked, not sure how to escape the burning house. He sat down in the middle of the hallway and cried because he was so afraid.

But in the midst of the darkness and smoke, he felt a man’s hand grasping his. Believing it was his father, the boy followed him to safety out the front door.  Immediately the man vanished,  as soon as the child was safe.

Bewildered, the child began to look around for his father, who came around from the back of the house calling for his son. “How did you get out?” asked his father.

“I  was too scared to move and sat there crying. But then I felt your hand holding mine, leading me out here,” said the boy.

“That wasn’t me, Son. I couldn’t get to you  because of the fire.” The father began to weep, thanking God for saving his son.

In the midst of the danger, God was there to relieve a small boy’s fears and to lead the child to safety.

Lord, help me to remember you are there with me when life’s troubles threaten to engulf me and I feel like that frightened child. Help me to trust you enough to hold onto your hand and follow you to safety. Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, Overcoming, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

