Learning to play again…

The truth is, you must accept God’s kingdom like a little child accepts things, or you will never enter it.” Luke 18:17 ERV

“When I get to heaven, I’ll be able to play with my Play Station whenever I want to.” The six-year-old  pouted when told he had to turn off the game.

His mom patiently explained to him that there were no video games in heaven and that he wouldn’t need them because there were so many other interesting things to do there with Jesus. The thoughts of being able to play all day in heaven intrigued the boy as he looked for new, fun things to do instead of the video game.

Later that evening, he asked his dad to play with him. “Sorry, Son, I can’t play now,” his dad replied.

The  young boy solemnly declared, “I bet Jesus will play with me in heaven, if I ask him.”

***

That youngster had some good ideas. To him playing  meant to use all his energy having fun, exploring, imagining, learning, creating, doing and being. It was even better when someone he loved did those things with him

As an adult, being able to “play” that way all day sounds  wonderful! And to be able to do those things in Christ’s presence – with him –  all day, every day – will be the best part of eternity.

Lord, help me to have more of that child-like faith now – to use what you give me to the fullest and to do it all in your presence as much as possible here on this earth. Amen!

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Wit and Wisdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

