Friend Request…

“I pray that Christ will live in your hearts because of your faith. I pray that your life will be strong in love and be built on love.  And I pray that you and all God’s holy people will have the power to understand the greatness of Christ’s love—how wide, how long, how high, and how deep that love is.  Christ’s love is greater than anyone can ever know, but I pray that you will be able to know that love. Then you can be filled with everything God has for you.”        Ephesians 3:17-19 ERV

Beverly Lewis is my favorite author. Because of my Pennsylvania Mennonite roots, I feel like I  have a little in common with her and I thoroughly enjoy reading her Amish books. I guess you could call her a “book jacket” friend – all I know about her is what’s written in the back cover bios on her books.

Now, I know inspirational romance  author, Delia Latham, personally. We met a few years ago when we wrote for the same e-zine, about the time we were both publishing our first books. We exchanged books, read for each other on subsequent book projects and have conversed over the years via e-mail. I consider Delia to be a good writing friend.

But if I really need some writing  encouragement, prayer for just about anything or just a shoulder to vent or cry on, I go to my inner circle of writing friends, the Sonrise Writers. We first met six years ago while taking a writing course online. But over the years our  connection has grown as we’ve studied the Bible, and shared our hearts through  writing, critiquing and publishing together. Though I’ve never seen any of them face to face, they’ve become an intimate part of my heart.

Do you see a progression here? We all have them – levels of friendship from the people we admire to those we are intimately close to. What we have to examine   is where our relationship with Christ is on that sliding scale.

Is he someone we merely know about  from reading his bio in the Bible or hearing about him from others?

Or is he the BFF of your life? – One whom you know intimately and can share ANYTHING with – One whom you pray to when things are rough – One  you worship and adore – One who you enjoy hanging out with – One who sees you as you really are and loves you in spite of  all the warts and wrinkles – The most important person in your life

If he doesn’t have that BFF status, you’re missing out! “I pray that you will be able to know that love. Then you can be filled with everything God has for you.”

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Salvation, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

