Hey you with the deer hooves…

“ELOHIM Adonai is my strength! He makes me swift and sure-footed as a deer and enables me to stride over my high places.”        Habakkuk 3:19 CJB

When I was four years old, I believed the threats my grandmother made when she told me to behave. If I disobeyed, there was little doubt that she would chase me, catch me and give me that promised “lickin’.”  Even though she never had to follow through, somehow I believed she was capable of the feat.

Now as an arthritic Grandma, myself, I understand the emptiness of her threat to chase me down for the promised spanking.  Her body became gnarled with arthritis and she moved slower each day. She banked on the hope that a stern look and a promise of punishment would be enough to deter the undesirable behavior because she knew she’d never catch me. LOL!

I think I inherited her tendency toward arthritis. The last time I tried to play ball and run the bases was 7 years ago when my knees were starting to give me trouble. I fell flat on my face on the way to first base and gave up running.  But truthfully, I look forward to the days in heaven when I will be able to run again. No more arthritic knees then. Yippee!!

However, I don’t have to give up running in the spiritual sense. Everyday God works with me to make my faith strong and sure-footed like a deer so I can run from sin to him.  No matter what the terrain looks like around me, he strengthens me so I can leap over adversities and land sure-footed on the right track – the path that leads straight into his arms.

Thank you, Lord, for the spiritual feet of a deer! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Overcoming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

