Measuring up

“Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.”        Romans 12:3 NLT

Saturday I spent the day at a local park for an event to raise money for local cancer patients – a Cancer Carnival. I took my books to sign and sell, hoping to be able to raise a little money for the human  trafficking victims to whom Daughter of Scarlet is dedicated plus a few other items to help raise money for the cause of the carnival.

It was fun to watch people stroll by the booth. Some had no interest in purchasing books at an event like the carnival. They walked by  in the sun, several feet from the shade of the canopy, barely giving the book table a glance. Others strolled by, glancing in to see what was there, before making a beeline for my niece’s Tupperware table.

But the ones who enjoyed reading came under the canopy and looked at the books, even picking them up to read the synopsis on the back. It was fun to watch their reactions when they looked at the back cover and then looked at me and said, “Is that you?” Then, even if they weren’t interested in buying a book, they usually stayed and chatted for a few minutes about books in general and sometimes about writing. I met several aspiring writers on Saturday.

I have to admit, I did get a momentary rush of pride when one sweet older woman looked at the books and got all excited. “It’s you!” she exclaimed. “I bought this book [Daughter of Scarlet]  and loved it. We chatted a bit and then she bought my other book before she left the table to wander past the other vendors.

I think all writers are pleased with that kind of recognition, although for me it also brings quite a bit of embarrassment as well since I have mixed feelings about pedestals and spotlights. When I began as a news writer 16 years ago, I felt like hiding under my desk when I realized people  actually read the things I wrote. LOL!

That embarrassment or feeling like my writing isn’t good enough is something I’ve had to work on over the years. Just as we’re not to think too highly of ourselves, we also shouldn’t think so little of ourselves that we avoid the spotlight when God places us there. It’s about being the person God created you to be, using the gifts and talents he gives you to the fullest and always pointing others to him.

Thank you Lord for the opportunity to point others to you through writing and word-of-mouth. Amen.

 

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Cancer Carnival, Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

