Byways to a peace of heaven

“LORD God, you stretched out your mighty arm and made the sky and the earth. You can do anything.”        Jeremiah 32:17 CEV

Here in Clearfield County, the outdoors is one of our major assets, from the West Branch of the Susquehanna River to the two state parks, the area draws many tourists each year through every season.

The area is so blessed with outdoor beauty and adventure that in March this year, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation designated an 80 mile loop of highways associated with the river and Pennsylvania history as the 19th scenic byway in the state!  Many thanks to all who had a part in the planning and work to obtain that designation. It will help protect the scenic beauty of the West Branch and aid in promoting tourism in its many surrounding communities.

But apart from all the commerce and marketing potential of that designation, what I appreciate most is the beauty of this area that God created.  Each time I travel cross-county to my daughters’ homes in neighboring counties, I am privileged to commute through some of the most lovely scenery the state has to offer. Though I dislike driving, this trip always has a calming effect on my soul because so much of the trip borders the West Branch. At my favorite point, about halfway through the trip, the road almost touches the river’s edge in Mahaffey.

That glimpse of the river winding through the trees never fails to build a swell of worship in my heart at the beauty of God’s creation. No matter what cares I carry, the view prompts me to let go of those burdens and watch them float away down the slow-moving current like a person tubing on the river. For a few brief moments I am reminded that my God can do anything and my heart is at peace.

Lord thank you for bringing us down those byways in life where we can see your beauty and experience your peace. Amen!

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Creation, Devotional Thoughts, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

