Dough Enhancer

“Jesus answered him, “The Scriptures say, ‘It is not just bread that keeps people alive. Their lives depend on what God says.’””        Matthew 4:4 ERV

With all the emphasis on healthy living these days, a good whole wheat or whole grain bread recipe is a must! I like to make mine in a bread maker, but sometimes it doesn’t rise enough and the bread comes out dense.

Some time ago, I found a solution to that problem at a little Amish bulk food store   near our home in Maryland. Dough enhancer. It was sold in a little two cup container and looked like wheat gluten in texture. I had no idea what was in it, but I knew it worked to help the bread dough rise better and produced a nicer finished loaf.

Then we moved to PA and I eventually found another Amish bulk food store, but this one didn’t sell dough enhancer.  I bought wheat gluten instead because I knew it would help, but the results weren’t  as good. Going to the computer, I looked online and found some dough enhancer, but til I paid postage, it seemed a little pricy .

In the end, I decided to be frugal and make my own. After doing some research, I eventually found a good recipe for the enhancer using ingredients I kept on hand.

To each recipe of whole wheat or whole grain bread, add:

–  1/2 to 1 Tbsp of wheat gluten in each cup of flour (Place the gluten in the measuring cup and then measure flour as usual) –   White vinegar – Use the same amount of vinegar as you do yeast in the recipe. (if you use 1 tsp of yeast, add 1 tsp of vinegar. Add this with the liquids if using a bread machine) –   1/8 to 1/4 cup Instant Mashed Potato Flakes per recipe for the bread machine.  (If making more than one loaf by hand, use this amount for each loaf in your recipe.)

Just as a dough enhancer makes a better bread, God’s Word enhances our lives. We depend on every word written in the scripture as well as every word he speaks to us in prayer to live more productive, spiritually healthy lives. He wakes us up every morning from the death-like state of sleep and his words give us strength to make it through the day.

Father, help me to depend on your word to enhance my life! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, God's Word, Prayer, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

