Grandma’s brag book

“It’s news I’m most proud to proclaim, this extraordinary Message of God’s powerful plan to rescue everyone who trusts him, starting with Jews and then right on to everyone else! God’s way of putting people right shows up in the acts of faith, confirming what Scripture has said all along: “The person in right standing before God by trusting him really lives.”        Romans 1:16 MSG

So – how many photos of your children or grandchildren do you keep in your wallet?

I have to chuckle – whenever a group of people get together, inevitably someone pulls out a photo of the newest child or grandchild and everyone else “oohs” and “aahs” over the photo. After all, we are proud of our offspring, and it is a wonderful conversation starter. It’s easy to talk about them because we’re so proud of them – who they are and the things they accomplish. And people usually seem to be genuinely  interested – the younger the child, the better!

No wonder they call our small portable photo albums “brag books.” They contain memories we  delight in sharing with others.

What would it look like if we kept a “brag book” of our walk with Christ and pulled it out for everyone to see whenever we gathered together?

“Oh this is me before I knew Jesus as savior. Boy was I a mess. And here’s one of me after I met Jesus. What a difference he made in my life.”

“And this is a picture of me at my job. I was out of work for a year; then I prayed and God answered the prayer with this job.”

Or    maybe, “This is my nephew. We prayed for him and God healed him.”

It is so easy to take photos these days. We have digital cameras and even cameras on our phones. Here’s a challenge – start putting together a “brag book” of photos associated with things Christ has done for you – a visual diary of your faith. Next time you’re in a group, share one or more photos with them and tell them the story behind it. You may find that it isn’t so difficult to “brag” about the One you’re most proud of!

Father – help me to record the things you’re doing in my life  so that I will delight in sharing your story with others! Amen.

About Bonnie Winters

I am a Pastor's Wife, Mom, Grandmom, writer, and crafter who loves God with all my heart! Life has been an interesting Journey, so why not pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa your favorite beverage and let's just share awhile!
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Devotional Thoughts, Evangelism, Witnessing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

